Beauty Boosts

Does A More Natural Nail Polish Actually Work?

{Ad-Review} Products gifted for an honest review. This blog post contains affiliate links. If you click through a link and buy something, I may receive a small commission. Find my full disclosure policy here.

UPDATE: This review was written in February 2017, and since then I believe the formula may have been changed, as several people have commented that the nail varnish doesn’t last for them. Please read the comments below for their feedback.

I’m working towards cutting chemicals out of my beauty regime, but one thing I’d never tried was natural nail polish. Every normal nail polish I’ve tried stays about two days before they chip, or sometimes three, if I’m really careful. I’ve tried high end and high street and they are all pretty much the same. So I didn’t really think there was any point trying a nail polish with reduced chemicals.

But a friend posted a scary article about the damaging effects of regular nail varnish on your body. I don’t know how much truth there is in it, but it did get me thinking. She recommended Zoya, so I got this gorgeous bright coral shade, and a base coat and top coat kit from LoveLula.Zoya Natural Nail Polish Mini Color Lock System

A Manicure with a More Natural Nail Polish

The colour I chose is Wendy, and it’s absolute perfection. It’s really bright, almost neon. I love it.  Apparently, when you use all the steps, the natural nail polish should stay for up to 14 days. Well I have to say I didn’t believe that for a minute! But I would be happy with more than my three day record, so I followed the steps:

You definitely need to apply two coats of colour. But when you do, it’s a great effect – really rich and bright.

How Long Did My Natural Manicure Last?

I have to say I am pretty impressed.

It lasted a good week before I needed to remove it, and even then, the bulk of it stayed. This more natural nail polish beats my previous nail polishes hands down, without the need for all those chemicals! I am pretty impressed. It didn’t make it to the 14 day mark, however.

What are Zoya’s Natural Beauty Credentials?

Zoya makes the best natural nail polish as it’s free from the top five chemical nasties: Toluene, Formaldehyde, Formaldehyde resin, DBP (Phthalates) and Camphor. These are all commonly found in normal nail polish. Zoya is also vegan friendly, cruelty free, and safe during pregnancy.

Zoya Natural Nail Polish is not a cheap option, coming in at £11.70 a bottle. whilst the Zoya Mini Colour Lock System is £26.

So it’s safe to say that I will be going back for more shades. There are tonnes online, including shimmery, matte, and metallic, so there are plenty to choose from. Hand with Zoya Nail Polish

Have you found any good natural nail polish? I’d love to hear about it if you have! You might like to check out my review of a gorgeous 7-free top coat here, and how I got on with a different more natural nail varnish here

12 Comments

  1. Diane

    26th December 2019 at 11:46 pm

    I rarely get manicures but got on on Dec. 24, 2019. first time using Zoya. I was so disappointed. Within an hour, I had polish chipped off from the centre of one nail, and 50% of all my nails had the polish “push” up towards my cuticles. And I wasn’t doing anything harsh and it continued to come off during the course of the first day. I was chopping food and washing my hands. That NIGHT, I put new sheets on the bed and had more rub marks on the polish. By day two, I could peel the entire two coats of polish off my thumb in one go. I can’t afford to use this polish!

    1. Becky Pink

      1st January 2020 at 3:29 pm

      Oh Diane, I’m so sorry to hear this, what a disappointment! I wonder if they have changed the formula since I reviewed it, as this is completely different to my experience. But it was a few years ago. I’m going to edit this post to suggest readers read your comment too, so they can see your thoughts. Thanks so much for your feedback, and I hope you find something that works better for you xx

  2. Vicki Aylor

    20th November 2019 at 1:01 pm

    I wish I could send pictures of my nails! Only 2 days after applying the nail polish, it started chipping off! I’ve been using this nail polish for years. I don’t knowWhat they did, but I will not be using Zoya anymore.

    1. Becky Pink

      24th November 2019 at 10:40 am

      Oh no Vicki, what a nightmare! I wonder if they have reformulated it? This blog post is a few years old so I guess I have the old version! x

  3. Kimberly

    3rd October 2019 at 2:57 pm

    I am thinking about this product, and want to thank each of you, especially Becky for the great article. Truthful and delightful! I’m going through the ‘pause’, and have found that my chemical is making my life crazy! So, as I seek natural products, this article and reviews were extremely helpful. I will try and return to you with my findings. I hope that I can be as helpful as you have been. Thank you! ….be well… Kimberly, Colorado, USA 10.3.19

    1. Becky Pink

      3rd October 2019 at 4:23 pm

      Ah thanks so much for your message and I really hope it helps! xx

  4. Christine

    7th August 2019 at 4:41 am

    I’ve been using Zoya for several years now & I absolutely love it! Idk if they still do it but they had this deal where you could send them your old nail polishes & get half off (or something like that. It was a while back) a new bottle of their polish for each bottle you sent in.
    There isn’t one thing about them that I don’t like….from customer service, to colors & ingredients. They’re amazing!

    1. Becky Pink

      7th August 2019 at 8:53 am

      Oooh I haven’t heard about that deal, but that sounds amazing if they still do it, thanks for the tip! xx

    2. Neysha

      17th February 2020 at 1:41 am

      They still do this sale. It’s the Earth Day sale. Keep a look out for it around March-April!

      1. Becky Pink

        20th February 2020 at 12:17 pm

        Ah thanks Christine, I’ll keep and eye out! x

  5. Anonymous

    4th August 2019 at 4:47 am

    I love zoya!! Seriously dried in thirty seconds which is great for people like me who are figety and can’t wait for polish to dry. Bright colors and smooth coat. It stayed on for days which is pretty awesome for a none gel polish. Definitely recommend.

    1. Becky Pink

      5th August 2019 at 2:35 pm

      I love it too, they have so many fab colours don’t they! Too tempting!! Xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.