Ava, Make & Do, My Favourite Family, Thea, Things I Love

REVIEW: A Book, A Play Mat, And A Submarine in 1!

The Pink family are big book lovers – we have two huge bookshelves groaning with my novels and art and craft books, and all of Ryan’s sciency ones. And that’s not even mentioning Ava and Thea’s collections! But we are always hungry for more books, especially the girls. They love nothing more than cuddling up for a story.

So when the lovely people at Miles Kelly Publishing sent us a new 3-in-1 convertible book to review*, excitement was high! Especially as it is GINORMOUS: I folded it all out, and Thea said “It’s gigantic! Can you read it longest?” I couldn’t even get it all in the photo! Miles Kelly Convertible Submarine Play Mat Book

A GIANT BOOK!

Then she wanted to sit on the floor and turn the pages like a book.

She really enjoyed the story, especially the part where the submarine’s crew found the treasure. We read it again when  Ava came home from school. She is five and a half now, so we found she was able to read a lot of it herself, with help. She was particularly interested in the hammerhead sharks, asking “Ooooh, what are they?”

There is a line in the book about a shark looking for its prey and I started to explain what that meant, to be told “I know what that means, prey means ‘death to animals by eating.'” A pretty good description really!

A FUN SUBMARINE

Next I set it up as submarine and they both got into it.

They loved driving it to the bottom of the ocean. I found it easy to put up, though at first I didn’t realise it as supposed to be an elongated diamond, so it didn’t look quite right! The ‘nose’ of the submarine is secured with clear plastic strips which stick the sections together with velcro. I think they are slightly too long, as the pop up part kept falling down – I just moved them up a bit like on this photo and it worked fine.Corner of Miles Kelly Convertible Submarine

The book retails at £17.99 but is only £13.49 if you order directly from their site, and at the time of writing it was on offer at £10. I think it would make a great gift for a boy or girl, and even though it is big, it folds up flat so is a great option even for small houses.

*Please note, I was sent this book to review, and all opinions are my own, as always.

Kids Love To Read - Laura's Lovely Blog
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

21 Comments

  1. Sarah HP

    27th May 2016 at 9:12 pm

    I know I commented on this post but just wanted to pop back to say thank you for linking up to #KLTR

  2. Laura's Lovely Blog

    26th May 2016 at 2:31 pm

    We’re a family of bookworms too 🙂 This book looks absolutely fantastic! I love the fact you can fold it out it looks really interactive. Thanks for linking up to #kltr

    1. Becky Pink

      26th May 2016 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks Laura, we’ve had hours of fun with it so far! xx

  3. Eva

    18th May 2016 at 12:02 pm

    Oh I love this, Becky! Awsome design. I have to get one for Bobcat! xx

  4. New Mummy Blog

    17th May 2016 at 4:00 pm

    That is an awesome book! I love hearing recommendations of books as I love reading and want H to have that same love. So far she does 🙂 I’m definitely going to check out their website x
    Thanks for sharing on #KCACOLS, hope you can link up with Franca next week too x

    1. Becky Pink

      17th May 2016 at 7:27 pm

      Ah great I’m glad you like the look of it. The prices look great on their site, very tempting! xx

  5. To Arizona and beyond

    17th May 2016 at 1:55 am

    This looks amazing, I’ve never seen anything like it! It would make a great present, I’ll have to check out their website, thanks! #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      17th May 2016 at 7:29 pm

      Thanks, it is so cool isn’t it! xx

  6. becca farrelly

    15th May 2016 at 9:33 pm

    Wow what a cool book! We too are book lovers and I know Mia would find this really interesting as a book and a submarine! 🙂

    #KCACOLS

  7. Mommy's Little Princesses

    15th May 2016 at 7:04 am

    This book just screams AWESOME! From the brightly coloured illustrations to the fact that it can turn into a submarine. Xx #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:45 am

      Yeah it really is a lot of fun, I can see them playing with it a lot! xx

  8. Fiona Cambouropoulos

    14th May 2016 at 10:58 pm

    I love the size and colours on this. Great fun idea. #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:46 am

      It’s cool isn’t it Fiona, both girls, and their little cousin have had a ball playing with it! xx

  9. Jane Taylor

    14th May 2016 at 9:51 pm

    Our girls are a bit older now, but they would go down a real treat with some of our younger relatives. I think it’s worth adding them to the present lists! Thanks for sharing #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:46 am

      Oh I totally agree Jane, it’s the perfect present for boys or girls, and one that the parents would appreciate too, instead of more plastic! xx

  10. Sarah HP

    13th May 2016 at 8:41 pm

    We have two of these! A pirate ship and a space rocket. I bought them as last minute Christmas presents hit the twins and they were the big hit of Christmas Day! My boys are sadly a bit rough with everything so I’ve had to do a bit of repair in them with gaffa tape!

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:47 am

      Ah my girls are massively into pirates at the moment, so they would love the pirate version too! Good old gaffer tape saves the day, it has so many uses doesn’t it! xx

  11. Clare

    13th May 2016 at 2:34 pm

    I have seen these books before and love them, although I’m waiting for the boys to be a little older, everything seems to get trashed super quickly in this house, and I wouldn’t want that to happen! The girls look like they really enjoyed getting in the submarine. Great description from Ava too! xx

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:50 am

      Thanks Clare – it does seem quite sturdy but it would be a shame to get one too early and then regret it. It’s a good one to bear in mind for a few years’ time! xx

  12. Angela at Daysinbed

    13th May 2016 at 2:18 pm

    Oh this is really quite cute and looks like a lot of fun. I’ve not seen or heard of this book but its something which i agree would be cool for a girl or boy. your photos are lovely too. Angela

    1. Becky Pink

      15th May 2016 at 8:50 am

      Thanks Angela, I hadn’t seen them before either, but I was impressed buy the ingenuity of it – I also love things that have more than one use! xx

What do you think? You're welcome to comment without your name, email or website if you prefer.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.