Beauty Boosts

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara: The Perfect Natural Mascara?

{Ad-Review} Products gifted in an unpaid collaboration. All opinions are honest, as always. This blog post contains affiliate links. If you click through a link and buy something, I may receive a small commission. Find my full disclosure policy here.

The perfect mascara: it’s is the holy grail of make-up, right? So hard to find, and I have set myself an extra challenge by trying to cut down the chemicals in my beauty products! I haven’t had much luck with natural mascaras in the past, so I wasn’t too optimistic about PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara. This natural mascara has a lot of promises:

“It lengthens, thickens and volumises lashes with a gentle water-resistant formula that lasts all day without ever smudging or flaking. Made with a unique blend of botanical oils which nourish and protect, helping to lengthen and strengthen lashes naturally for beautiful eyes.”

So did it live up to this description? Read my review of PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara to find out!

PHB Ethical Beauty Mascara: The Perfect Natural Mascara?

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara Brush

The white tube  is minimal, with a metallic-green-coloured band and arrives in a cardboard box. The brush is a spiral bristle brush, which is my favourite kind. I never get on with the plastic brushes as I find my lashes just get stuck together. No such problems with this brush. It’s good for getting into the corners and for the lower lashes. 

Close up of PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara brush

Close up of PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara brush.

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara Results

In a word, I’m impressed. Very impressed. Sorry for the slightly scary close ups, but these photos do show just how effective this mascara is. They are all untouched images. PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara adds both length and volume, and doesn’t clump.

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara In Action

To show you the difference this mascara makes, I just used it on one eye to begin with. My lashes are naturally quite long, and have blonde tips, so although this result looks great, it hasn’t added as much length as it might look. Picture one shows one eye with naked lashes and one with one coat of PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara. The second picture shows the eye with two coats, and the final photos shows both eyes with two coats of mascara. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I advise letting the first coat dry for about five minutes, before you add another (if desired – you could totally just use one coat!) Normally, because I have quite long lashes, I have to comb them through, but I didn’t really need to, thanks to the wire brush.   

Is PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara Waterproof?

It’s certainly water resistant, if not waterproof. I’m not sure how it would cope with a proper deluge, but here I am after spending the afternoon in a hot tub, steam room and sauna – a slight smudge beneath the eye but totally acceptable for that amount of sweat!PHB Ethical Beauty Mascara after a steam room and sauna

It even looked reasonable after a few hours in the swimming pool at Centre Parcs. I didn’t put my head under, but I did get splashed. A lot. It went into these little flakes, and they brushed off quite easily. And as you can see, the majority of it stayed on my eyelashes. PHB Ethical Beauty Mascara after getting splashed in the swimming pool

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara’s Eco Credentials

The mascara has a pretty impressive list of eco credentials:

  • Paraben Free
  • No Nano Particles
  • No Talc or Fillers
  • No Mineral Oils or petrochemicals
  • No GM Ingredients
  • No palm oil
  • Fragrance free
  • Vegan
  • Cruelty Free
  • Halal Certified
  • Gluten Free
  • Suitable for sensitive eyes
  • PHB is a family business
  • 20% of their profit goes to charity

After using this natural mascara for a few months, I am now finding it is getting a little cloggy, so I am having to use my trusty lash comb occasionally. But it’s not a problem, just something to be aware of.

Where to Buy PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara 

This mascara comes in black and brown.  It’s £15.95, so on a par with higher end mascaras, and considering how well it performs, and it’s eco-credentials, I think that is quite reasonable. You can buy PHB All In One Mascara at Love Lula, one of my favourite online shops, which specialises in ethical beauty products.

This is the second PHB Ethical Beauty product I’ve tried and I loved the blusher just as much. I’m sure I’ll be trying more products over the next few months.

Have you discovered any ‘green’ beauty items that are just as good (or even better!) than their high street alternatives? I’d love to hear about them – please leave me a comment!

PS. I’ll let you in to a little secret: I have barely any eyebrows left after over-zealous plucking in the nineties. You can find out I get them to look a LOT fuller, and see the ‘before’ images, on my post about eyebrows.

Why not Pin this for later so you can find it again when your mascara runs out?

PHB Ethical Beauty All In One Mascara Review. The Perfect Natural Mascara?

33 Comments

  1. Palette Makeup

    24th July 2018 at 3:32 pm

    I’ve had this lovely mascara for a few months and I am so happy organic brands manage to achieve such great formulas ! Boho green and SoBio Ethic are other organic brands I really like !

    1. Becky Pink

      24th July 2018 at 3:32 pm

      Ah thanks so much for the tip off, I will investigate them! Xx

  2. Catherine

    10th June 2017 at 7:40 pm

    I love PHB too! I bought the brown mascara and liked it, especially as most other brown mascaras make my eyes hurt and cry. However, after less than 2 months, it’s become thicker and very cloggy,so that I have to clean the brush each time I want to apply it. Which means I can’t use it when I’m in a hurry. Thanks for your reviews.

    1. Becky Pink

      11th June 2017 at 9:14 pm

      Ah mine did that too after a while, I guess it’s because it doesn’t have any preservatives in it. I find that using a metal lash comb really helps – I got a great one from Boots No7 that works a treat. Good to hear it doesn’t irritate your eyes xx

  3. Bread

    29th January 2017 at 10:10 am

    I’m allergic to so much make up. If I wore mascara this might be the one for me! #kcacols

    1. Becky Pink

      2nd February 2017 at 10:11 pm

      Ah that must be so hard, it can be a real mine field can’t it. Thanks for popping by xx

  4. Emma me and b make tea

    29th January 2017 at 9:45 am

    this actually sounds and looks good! its hard to find natural products that are good. but i find more and more are coming onto the market. love the look of the brush too – like you say to get into the corners and the bottom lashes 🙂
    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday!

    1. Becky Pink

      2nd February 2017 at 10:04 pm

      Thanks Emma, it is such a winner, I love it! xx

  5. Carolina Twin Mom / Mary Peterson

    26th January 2017 at 3:09 pm

    Holy cow, your lashes look AWESOME! I personally feel that I can skip all other eye makeup EXCEPT mascara. A gal can look asleep without it!
    #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      26th January 2017 at 6:09 pm

      I totally agree, I feel like a mole without mascara! xx

  6. Kelly-Anne - Mimi Rose and Me

    25th January 2017 at 3:40 pm

    Well I love the look of this natural mascara my lovely and your review is really detailed. I will have to definitely try this…#KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      25th January 2017 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you Kelly-Anne, I really love it and I hope you do too if you try it xx

  7. Ali Duke

    25th January 2017 at 12:27 pm

    I think it looks great. It is good to know that there are well made natural beauty products out there.
    #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      25th January 2017 at 7:09 pm

      Thanks Ali, I’ve been looking for the perfect mascara for a long time, I’m so happy I’ve found it! xx

  8. Ruth

    23rd January 2017 at 8:56 pm

    This one looks amazing, I don’t wear much makeup but I always use mascara. Once my current one runs out, I must give this a try!

  9. Susan

    23rd January 2017 at 1:26 pm

    Oh I love a good honest Mascara post. (That is the MUA in me).

    S x

  10. Grainne Arif

    23rd January 2017 at 12:16 pm

    Ohhh I’m always on the hunt for a new mascara, I have long lashes but they are Sooooooooooo straight, its drives me crazy. Does this lift them a little at all? It looks like it does on the photo, just wasn’t sure whether yours point upwards naturally (mine go down!!!). Either way, my eyes are stinging more as I get older and I think natural beauty products, especially on the eyes is the way to go. Lovely post x

    1. Becky Pink

      23rd January 2017 at 1:52 pm

      Thank you Grainne. You might need to curl your lashes first – I’d say it does give some uplift but I never normally curl mine as they seem to point upwards naturally. And there’s nothing worse than stinging eyes, is there? xx

  11. Lara Quin

    23rd January 2017 at 11:00 am

    Perfect timing, mines just run out so up for a change now:) x

    1. Becky Pink

      23rd January 2017 at 1:50 pm

      Oh good, that is perfect timing indeed! I hope you love it if you get this one xx

  12. Amy Burleigh

    23rd January 2017 at 9:56 am

    Wow this looks fab! I have really short lashes and am always keen to try something new that might improve them, this looks great!

    1. Becky Pink

      23rd January 2017 at 10:57 am

      Thanks Amy, I hope you love it as much as I do xx

  13. Sonia

    22nd January 2017 at 11:31 pm

    Looks great! I always spend a bit more on mascara than any other makeup I use and didn’t think than an ethical one would be any good! I may well try this one xx #KCACOLS

    1. Becky Pink

      23rd January 2017 at 10:57 am

      I have to say I was pleasantly surprised that it is SO good! xx

  14. Adele Mackinnon

    22nd January 2017 at 2:03 pm

    Looks like a great effective product. Will give it a try, mascara is the one thing I can’t live without x

    1. Becky Pink

      22nd January 2017 at 10:19 pm

      Me too, it’s definitely a desert island necessity isn’t it! xx

  15. Vickie Neave - INPOLife

    22nd January 2017 at 1:18 pm

    Look at those lashes! Will deco give it a bash once I have run out. If I do one make up thing in the morning it is mascara. Never a good look without it. X

    1. Becky Pink

      22nd January 2017 at 10:20 pm

      I totally agree, it’s a must have! Especially this one xx

  16. Rachael Savage

    22nd January 2017 at 11:34 am

    Those lashes look amazing … time to order, mine are so pale & need mascara daily to make me feel human!! x

    1. Becky Pink

      22nd January 2017 at 10:21 pm

      Thanks Rachael, I hope you get on with it as well as I do! xx

  17. Kate

    22nd January 2017 at 11:15 am

    I’m definitely going to try this when my current Clinique naturally glossy one runs out. Think my lashes are a bit like yours and I find lots of mascaras can look a bit clumpy/ unnatural on me so have always stuck with the Clinique one but the PHB one looks perfect!

    1. Becky Pink

      22nd January 2017 at 11:19 am

      Thanks Kate, I must have tried hundreds over the years and this is easily my favourite. Do let me know how you get on if you buy it xx

What do you think? You're welcome to comment without your name, email or website if you prefer.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.